Lovely chubbly!

Tuesday 24th January 2017

River Avon Pershore.

 Video at the end 

Theres something quite mystifying about a winters morning. It was 6am when Marv and I arrived on the banks of the river Avon in Pershore. A crisp layer of frost had turned all green to white and it crunched under our feet as we walked. Odd isn’t it, on a cold winters morning like this when your wrapped in your warm duvet the last thing you want to do is get out of bed. Unless your going fishing. It would take a pack of very persuasive angry dogs to keep most anglers from the bank when an opportunity for a dangle is on the cards. 


Armed with two loaves of bread and a pint of maggots and a bag of breadcrumbs I set up in my chosen swim with my favourite feeder rig. Having only ever caught chub on the fly before (which may I add is great fun, a 5lb+ specimine on a 8ft fly rod with 1.5lb line really tests an anglers skill)


I fished this deep run for 45 minutes without a sniff of interest. I decided to move, my second swim was situated on a bend with a position to cover a lot of water. Another hour passes by with not even a nibble. Perhaps this winter chub fishing isn’t all it’s cracked up to be. I persevered, swapping between maggots and bread, the number and colour of maggots I am using, hook size and a lighter hookline. Still nothing. 

I notice a tall group of rushes and trees about 100 yards upstream from my peg.  We decide to go and explore as an inlet of fresh water from a stream could be very attractive to a shoal of chub and could hold some good sized fish. The stream looked beautiful, deep and weedy with a blue tinge to the slow moving water. The stream was lined with thick grass and looked to be undercut on both sides. A potential hiding place for fish to lie in wait for their dinner to drift by. I removed my swim feeder and free lined a chunk of bread flake along the opposite bank. I Bounce the chunk of flake along the bottom holding the line with my index finger waiting for the tug. 

I start about 20 yards from the mouth of the stream and make three casts I then take a few steps closer to the mouth and repeat. I was certain this spot would hold some chub but nothing was showing as of yet. Then as I lifted out to recast I feel a massive pull on my rod. I’m in, this feels odd not like a chub at all, an acrobatic leap from the fish leaves us both a little dumbstruck. The slender camouflaged body and toothy grin of a of an angry pike crashes back into the blue. Fighting to keep the fish out of the weed proved a challenge on light tackle but eventually she slid into the mesh of my landing net. 

Not a chub and not what we came for but a fish none the less. I released her and returned to my swim still in shock at catching a pike on a piece of bread, perhaps the flash of white inticed the fish into striking purely out of instinct. 

Another move downstream produces a couple more bites on the feeder a few small roach to finish off the day. Not the best session but still better than a blank. And I don’t think I could have started 2017 off with a prettier fish. 

Wednesday 25th January 2017

River Severn Worcester

So with another day off work and chubless previous session  I seek some advice from my local tackle shop. I get to my recommended location and get comfy setting up with the same tactics as I used the day before. 


Three casts with a feeder packed with breadcrumbs and maggots rings the dinner bell for the hungry chub. I bait my hook with a large fluffy piece of bread and make a cast. Not 30 seconds pass by and I’m into my first fish.

My first river Severn chub and what a little belter just over 2lb at a guess. I bait my hook and recast to the same spot. Bites are instant and quick reflexes are rewarded with fin perfect chub. 11 fish in an hour and they are all perfect. 

Not many pictures as my swim was muddy and very slippery I didn’t want to drop my camera. A great short session and it definitely made up for yesterday.

Leave a Reply

